crayons and milk

Apples June 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — crayonsandmilk @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

An apple a day keeps the doctor away! Well, I’ve got six apples….

Six fun facts about apples: *http://www.orangepippin.com/resources/apple-facts/apple-fun-facts
1.  Planting an apple seed from a particular apple will not produce a tree of that same variety. The seed is a cross of the tree the fruit was grown on and the variety that was the cross pollinator.

2.  It takes energy from 50 leaves to produce one apple.

3.  Apples are a member of the rose family.

4.  Archeologists have found evidence that humans have been enjoying apples since at least 6500 B.C.

5.  Fresh apples float because 25% of their volume is air (thank goodness, or none of us would have ever experienced bobbing for apples!).

6. How Steve Jobs came up with the name, Apple… [“On the naming of Apple, he said he was “on one of my fruitarian diets.” He said he had just come back from an apple farm, and thought the name sounded “fun, spirited and not intimidating.”]

Pattern: http://twinsknit.blogspot.ca/2011/12/striped-apple-ornament.html

 

 

42 Responses to “Apples”

  1. Kathryn Rubidoux Says:

    These are amazing!

    • Thank you!!! I wanted to do a small project and use up some of my yarn hahaha :) Didn’t work because I still have a huge stash left…

      • Kathryn Rubidoux Says:

        Crochet a basket to put the knitted fruit in? That will use up some yarn.
        They’re serious cute, I may try to make a jumbo one for my bed. The little ones would be asking for my cat to steal them.

      • AWwwww surprisingly my doggy is not attacking my knitted stuff!

  2. thegirlwithpigtails Says:

    Love your apples. Might have to try making them too.

    • You definitely should!! It actually didn’t take too long and I wanted to knit more because I had fun trying to see which colours worked well together! :)

      • thegirlwithpigtails Says:

        Also, the pictures you took of them, are great. They make the knitted apples shine! You’re very talented.

  3. Why can’t all apples look so cute and colorful?
    Hahaha, btw great job :)

  4. mmm yummy apples! =D

  5. Stacy Lyn Says:

    Those are awesome! I love to crochet toys – I am a very slow knitter, but I am currently knitting a fall sweater for my crocheted doll.

    Thanks for visiting my site and “liking” my post! <3

  6. ddlollybabe Says:

    lovely!!! u r so imaginative.. <3

  7. LOVE all of your fun colors – YUM! (and into the queue it goes!)

  8. Oh my, oh my. Love! Love those apples. They’re just so freakin’ cute!

  9. Pure Klass Says:

    Oh my gosh SO CUTE. I’m going to have to make some of these to put on top of gifts. Super, super adorable.

  10. Adorable! I might make some of these for my coworkers.

    • YAY!!!! I thought about not stuffing it with cotton and having it as a sleeve for a real apple! But then it got complicated because I didn’t know if I should make a side opening or have the real apple slide out from the bottom of the sleeve.. anyways, good luck on those apples! :D

  11. Laurel Ph Says:

    Love the white and yellow apple :) so adorable! Keep up the awesomeness!

    LP

  12. This is soooo cool! I’ll try them – They should be fun! :-) Thanks so much.

    • It was really fun and quick!!! As I was knitting, I was thinking, how is this going to work if the knitted piece is slanted, but it all made sense at the end hahaha

  13. kydel Says:

    Aww I love these! They are super cute!

  14. grimdreamer Says:

    Wonderful!! I should get some polyester stuffing pronto! Take it God is looking after you instead of the seventh apple ;)

  15. Loving the stripey apples. As usual, makes me sad I can’t knit (though I wouldn’t have time with my other crafts anyway!). You should make a book of your photos! :)

    • Last year I made a photobook for my little poodle, Teddie and I loved how it turned out so creating one for the knitted toys is such an awesome idea!!! :D I could turn it into a story book =p

  16. These are beautiful!! £I love the stripy ones too! Bet you’d have a gorgeous blanket knitted for those poor lil dogs in no time!!x

  17. hank1609 Says:

    Lovely!

  18. putneyfarm Says:

    Thanks for giving us a big smile…so pretty.


Leave a Reply

